7 comments on “Week 3 Communicating Effectively

  1. You wrote, “With video and voice messaging, Portny et al. (2008) suggest all messages should be confirmed in writing to reduce chances of misunderstanding.”

    I think this is still a best practice. I don’t know if it’s just my habit of trying to “cover my bases” or if it’s my desire to have a record of what *I* promised to do (to fight my own forgetfulness).

    I worked with a project manager whose preferred mode of communication was in-person without fail. She would drop by my office 1-2 times a day to to get reports and work commitments. She would often follow up with an email saying “Like we talked about, you said you’d do X, Y, and Z by Thursday at noon.” and so forth. It seems like itmight be the best of both worlds: the easier compliance from personal communication, but the tracking and authority of a written record.

  2. Hi Tim,
    communication plays a huge role in our daily life activities. I believe that the lack of communication can cause negative things or problems in a project plan. Based on the 3 given communication models which one do you use to communicate with your project team members, PM, ID and stakeholders? I would like to share with you the link below on the “3 Must-Have Communications Skills”.

    Reference

    http://www.pmi.org/Professional-Development/Career-Central/3-Must-Have-Communications-Skills.aspx

    • Thanks for posting the link to PMI. In general, some very good advice, but we need to remember to adjust for differing environments

  3. I do agree that this video did not represent the face to face very well, usually face to face means that you are actually talking to somebody either in person or over a video application like skype or facetime. Seeing them and talking to them in person can really do wonders for how you leave the meeting. It also allows the project managers time to get to know the team, learn their backgrounds, experience and styles (Portney 360). Great post this week!
    Sam

  4. Hi Tim,
    I have to disagree with you about the email. I feel it wasn’t clear and to the point i feel i got a little confused with the way it was written and would have had to question the sender in person or on the phone as to what exactly they were looking for. I would also shorten the message or break up the big block of text which makes readers not want to read emails. I feel everyone has different understandings of things presented in different ways that’s why its important to know your “Audience” and present to them each on an individual by individual basis.

    Thanks,
    Joan

    • Hi. I would say differences are generational. When I was working, video chat or messaging was not yet available and I never cared for Voice Mail (messages were generally very unclear!). As far as knowing your audience, you are correct, but that is difficult to do in real-life situations. For example, how would you go about understanding each of your global team members or even functional managers who may be situated in several countries? I have been part of project teams that were global in nature and lasted up to 2 years of planning. And although video may be the future, email is still a very good way to have back up. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

